Stalin's line

It stretched for 1835 km and consisted of 20 fortified areas (UR), of which 9 were on the territory of Ukraine: Korstensky, Kiev, Novograd-Volynsky, Shepetovsky (1938), Starokonstantinovsky (1938) Letichevsky, Ostropolsky (1938), Mogilev-Podolsky. (938) 'Kamvne ^ PODOLSKY

Each UR was a separate military formation, which corresponded to the corps in terms of fire power. The UR occupied up to 120 km along the front and up to 30-50 km in depth and was formed from strong points, which included 15-25 combat positions covering up to 1.5 km of the front. A group of strongholds formed a battalion defense section, which defended up to 10 km along the front. At key points were forts with underground structures, warheads. The main structures were connected by a system of tunnels and galleries. UR could conduct hostilities completely autonomously. The Stalin Line was built in 1929-38. Later buildings took into account the development of fortification art. In connection with the movement in 1939. borders to the west, work on the Stalin Line was discontinued, weapons were removed and transferred to the newly created (but not finished) Molotov Line.

Our Facebook page: Tsіkava Ukraine .
Like to track new on the site.